Warning: curl_exec() has been disabled for security reasons in /mnt/home2/sheerpar/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-http-curl.php on line 224
What are the 9 Navratri Colours and their Significance?

What are the 9 Navratri Colours and their Significance?

The 9 Navratri colours are Yellow, Green, Grey, Orange, White, Red, Royal Blue, Pink, and Purple. Devotees wear the respective Navratri colour clothes to attract pure bliss and positivity.

Navratri is a colourful Hindu festival in which the devotees worship the nine incarnations of Goddess Durga. Each incarnation personifies special powers. People can summon these powers by observing certain rituals. One such ritual is wearing specific colours associated with each of the 9 days. These are called the Navratri nav colours.

Colours are a vibrant aspect of our lives. Each Navratri colour for 9 days narrates a unique story. The Navratri nav colours stay the same each year. However, the sequence varies depending on the day Navratri falls. If you are wondering what is the Navratri colour of the day today, here is a complete list of Navratri colours 2020.

Importance of 9 Navratri Colours

Day 1- Yellow

Devotes dedicate Navratri 1st day to Devi Shailputri. Devi Shailaputri, the daughter of Mountains, is an ideal personification of Mother Nature. Yellow is the Navratri colour for this day. It summons happiness, vibrancy, and good cheer. Furthermore, wearing yellow is an ideal way to start the Navratri on a happy and positive note.

Day 2- Green

The second day of the Navratri is dedicated to Devi Brahmacharani. She had gone to the green mountains in search of spiritual knowledge. Hence, green is the Navratri colour for this day.

Day 3- Grey

The devotees worship Devi Chandraghanta on the third day. Devi Chandraghanta protects all her devotees and quells their problems. This incarnation of Goddess Durga adorns her forehead with a grey coloured half-moon. Hence, grey is the Navratri colour day.

Day 4- Orange

Devi Kushmanda is the fourth incarnation of Goddess Durga. She was radiant like the Sun. People wear orange on this day to dazzle their lives with brightness. Furthermore, the vibrancy of this colour pleases Devi Kushmanda too.

Day 5- White

Hindus worship Devi Skandamata this day. She signifies the purity of Mother’s love. Hence, the devotees can wear white on this day to summon bliss, purity and pious energy.

Day 6- Red

Devottes worship Devi Katyayani on the sixth day of Navratri. Devi Katyayani was formed out of the anger of the Gods. Consequently, red is the Navratri colour for this day.  This colour helps the devotee to muster the power and strength to curb all negativity.

Day 7- Royal blue

The seventh day of the Navratri is dedicated to Devi Kaalratri, the Goddess of destruction. As a testimony to her name, royal blue is the colour of this day. This colour summons the power to end all evil and negative forces.

Day 8- Pink

People worship Devi Mahagauri on the eighth day of the Navratri. She personifies freshness in terms of approach and perspective. Thus, pink is the Navratri colour today.

Day 9- Purple

The devotees worship Devi Siddhidatri, the ninth incarnation of Goddess Durga on this day. Devi Siddhidatri is the goddess of knowledge and peace. Purple signifies the power of intellecte and wisdom. Hence, purple is the Navratri colour for this day.

The Navratri colours for nine days can be easily adorned by everyone in some form or the other. Now that you know the 9 Navratri colours day, which Navratri colour are you wearing today?

Navratri is an auspicious occasion for Hindus. Read on to know the Real Essence of Navratri.

If you are fasting during the Navratri days, here is how you can take Navratri fasting as the perfect opportunity to Weight Loss? So, what are you waiting for? Make the most of these wonderful tips and get ready to shed some extra kilos!

Categories: Festivals

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.